ECBC: Comics recommendations by “Doctor Vince”! 5/21/18

“Doctor Vince” is a rocket scientist by day, and an EC Book Club (ECBC) moderator by night! SCOTT PILGRIM is the featured book at our next ECBC meeting.

Here are the comics and graphic novels that caught his attention in this month’s Previews (in addition to his usual pull list, and EC’s picks this month!). To ensure that you get these books when they arrive, please call the store at 727-398-2665 or email our Books & New Comics Merchant Frank at comics@emeraldcitycomics.com, to reserve a copy!

From the Previews Catalog #356, MAY 2018 (for books arriving mainly in JULY 2018)…

Preview page illustrates the logical end result of a reality-show obsessed police-state

The New World no. 1 (page 48) – Debut of a ballistic sci-fi action romance miniseries, in the vein of Mad Max and Romeo and Juliet, by writer Ales Kot and artists Tradd and Heather Moore. “The United States of America—after the Second Civil War. Two lovers meet. One: a straight-edge vegan hacker anarchist boy with a penchant for messing with the State. The other: a chaotic, hedonistic cop with a reality TV show and a license to kill. This really shouldn’t happen—and yet, somehow, it does. And soon, the entire state of New California is after them!”  ($4.99)

This entry was posted in Book Club!, Books & New Comics!. Bookmark the permalink.